Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge, Namibia – Ecotourism, romantic & pure wilderness (+ video)

This post is also available in: German

Wild romantic and unique wilderness in Zambezi

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1770

The Zambezi region (former Caprivi Strip) is one of the most fascinating places in Namibia. The tropical and wild Africa! Here it can happen that an elephant comes across the way! Unfortunately we have not met any but instead we have seen cattles and zebras.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1797

The lodge is situated at about 480 km from Rundu, 75 km from Kongola and 130 km from Katima Mulilo. From Kongola you drive about 75 km on C46 in the direction of Sangwali. Up to this point the tarred roads are well constructed. Sangwali is still a very authentic African village with thatched round houses.

From the village you drive another 10 km to the lodge. This route is the pure adventure! 4×4 is a prerequisite! But please believe us, if you do not have a 4×4 car, it is better to have someone pick you up in Sangwali.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1827

The Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge has a remote location on the isle Lupala on the riverside of one of the four channels of the Kwando Linyanti River System and is the only lodge that is situated in the very middle of the Linyanti Swamps and less than 300 m from the Nkasa Lupala National Park (former Mamili National Park). The islands Lupala and Nkasa have also lent their names to the lodge.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2232

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-9604

This unique Namibian marshland paradise is in the eastern part of the Zambezi region. You partly feel like being in the Okavango Delta.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1825

For adventure seekers and people looking for a unique experience in the wilderness this lodge is an absolute Must.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1826

The Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge is a joint venture between the managers of the lodge, the Italian family Micheletti and the Wuparo Conservancy. This joint venture is part of the successful and award-winning „Namibian Conservancy Program”.

The Wuparo Conservancy was founded under an ecotourism project by the Namibian environmental programme by the Mayeyi Traditional Authority with private participation of the family Micheletti. Together they aim at protecting the nature and fostering the well-being of the people in that region. A part of the revenues of the lodge are being transferred to the Wuparo Conservancy.

95 % of the employees of the lodge come from the community. Once 9 employees have now become 23. By this for sure the life in the villages is also improving. Within the frame of the non-governmental organization IRDNC (Integrated Rural Development and Nature Conservation) the inhabitants of the region ensure the wildlife protection. They intend to prevent poaching and illegal hunts.

The managers of the lodge, the brothers Simone, Alessandro and Ruggero Micheletti want to offer their guests since July 2011 a special wilderness adventure and unique experiences and at the same time to ensure also a reasonable and ecofriendly tourism management. The three of them are real visionaries with passion, sensitivity and love for nature, animals and humans. Absolutely impressive! Further information  >>

Interview mit manager Alessandro Micheletti

We talked to manager Alessandro. In this video he tells us about his vision and the wonderful lodge. A great man with great opinions!

Gentle Tourism

The whole lodge was built according to the ecologic perspective and is fully energy autonomous. The energy is being generated by solar radiation and also the water is being heated by the sun. Warm water is only available in the evening and light comes from solar or LED lamps. Also the paths betweens tents and the main building stayed natural.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2015

The main area of the lodge was built in an ecofriendly and sustainable way (no concrete) on wood platforms. This main area consists of a dining area, a lounge and a bar. Here you can finish out the day with a sundowner. There is also a little pool here for freshing up.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1927

From the wonderful wood terraces with fireplace and viewing deck you have a breath-taking view on the laguna where there are often elephants. In September and October you can see here over 200 elephants! We were there in May and to that time all of them had already migrated to Botswana. But nevertheless it is just wonderful here, especially the pure wilderness!

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1993

In the evening you can enjoy here the slightly Italian inspired food at the family table. Who wants to, can sit here with all other guests (including the manager and his son) and review the high points of the day. A really great thing which made our visit here even more interesting and personal. Especially beautiful is the fire that is burning in the evenings.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1981

The main area and the tents fit in perfectly with the natural surroundings. By this the lodge is a prime example for sustainable building and sensible sustainable tourism, not only in that region, but for whole Namibia.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1978

Glamping

The 10 simple but though luxurious tents are built with steel, canvas and wood on stilts. There are 8 luxury tents, a honeymooner’s tent and a family tent. They all have glass doors, a little deck for fantastic animal viewing and an own bathroom. Glamping (Glamourous Camping) in the wilderness!

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1844

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2258

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1889

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1882

The tent for the honeymooners has a wonderful open air bath tub.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2307

Be a guest of the wild animals

For the animals there are no limitations or fences. They can walk freely from the national park to the lodge. And also to Botswana, Namibia, Angola and Sambia of course. So there are numerous exciting encounters with the wild animals. Therefore a guide has to bring you to your tent after dinner.

You can observe here elephants, hippos, a huge buffalo cattle, two lion prides, hyenas, antelopes, kudus, … and up to 400 bird species.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2243

Game Drives and more

Depending to the season there are different activities, for example game drives in the Nkasa Lupala National Park, hikes, boat tours and village tours. Then you can see with a little luck lions, elephants, buffalos, leopards, antelopes, duikers, gnus, hippos and warthogs. Night game drives are being made during the dry winter months.

A combination of game drive and boats tour is also great. The drive through the swamps, savannah and grass landscapes and the huge Kwando Linyanti river system takes including lunch about 5 hours. The drive with our guide Gini was super interesting!

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2067

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2236

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-9429

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-9459

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2143

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-9550

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-9586

We love Nkasa Lupala!

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2033

For adventurers, romantics, animal and nature lovers this lodge is just perfect. The nature is breath-takingly beautiful and here is a very special atmosphere. The remote position of the lodge gives the feeling of being in the wilderness. And if you are there at the right time of the year (September/October) you can see the elephants from the decks. Also for the honeymoon or for a romantic bush wedding this is a very special place! We enjoyed here a lot the atmosphere, the people, the nature and the animals! This place will always stay in our memories an in our hearts!

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2069

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2062

Air temperature: -1 – 40 degrees
Best travel period: May – September (rainy period January to March), end of April and May is the best weather. Best time for safaris and elephant watching: September-October (end of the dry period)
Price: from 136 EUR per night incl. dinner, Bed & Breakfast
Total ranking: ******
Specialties: 
Sustainable tourism with a heart and passion for animals, nature and humans, breath-taking landscape, animals can walk around through the lodge, very personal and warm-hearted atmosphere, great tents, great food
Our tip: We recommend you malaria prophylaxis and enough mosquito repellents because the lodge is situated in malaria high risk area.

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge – Booklet

nkasa-logo

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala NP
11km South of Sangwali
GPS: S18 19.766 E23 40.324
East Caprivi – Namibia

Tel: +264 81 1477798
Fax 0886509335
info@nkasalupalalodge.com
www.nkasalupalalodge.com

Eco Awards Namibia – 5 of 5 Eco Flowers
Award of Excellence 2014
Conservancy Tourism Award 2011

Our advice: The Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge was part of our Namibia round tour that was lovingly planned by Silke from vermundo Reisen! We can only highly recommend vermundo!

Note: During our stay we have been partly supported by the Nkasa Lupala Lodge. The views expressed in this article are, as always – our own! To 100%!

Monique De Caro

Monique De Caro

Travel Blogger | Graphic-Designer | Photographer at Beautiful Weddings by Monique De Caro
Hallo, ich bin Monique #lebensfrohe Weltenbummlerin #Grafik-Designerin #Fotografin #Genießerin und die Schreiberin dieses Blogs. Da ich selbst Hochzeitsfotografin bin und ich meinen Mann Marcus (der mich stets auf den Reisen begleitet) am Strand Anse Source d´Argent auf den Seychellen geheiratet habe, möchten wir euch vor allem Tipps für wunderschöne Flitterwochen, die eigene Hochzeit am Strand, einzigartige Hotels oder die romantische Auszeit zu zweit geben.
Monique De Caro

@moniquedecaro

Beautiful Places for Lovers! http://t.co/PL73sZoEjJ // Beautiful Weddings http://t.co/s1jnSYOqT4
Mit Travelzoo einen Luxusurlaub nach Las Vegas gewinnen! Hier teilnehmen: https://t.co/Y8kbylX1AX - 4 days ago
Monique De Caro

Wir freuen uns über eure Kommentare, Tipps und Anregungen!

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge, Namibia – Ökotourismus, Romantik & Wildnis pur (+ Video)

This post is also available in: Englisch

Wilde Romantik & einzigartige Wildnis in Zambezi

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1770

Die Zambezi-Region (ehemals Caprivi-Streifen) ist eine der faszinierendsten Gegenden Namibias. Das tropische und wilde Afrika! Hier kann es durchaus schon mal vorkommen, dass einem Elefanten über den Weg laufen! Wir haben hier leider keine getroffen, dafür aber Cattles und Zebras.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1797

Von Rundu ist die Lodge etwa 480 km, von Kongola 75 km und von Katima Mulilo 130 km entfernt. Von Kongola fährt man auf der C46 ca. 75 km in Richtung Sangwali. Bis dort ist auch alles super mit Teerstraßen ausgebaut. Sangwali ist ein noch sehr authentisches afrikanisches Dorf mit reetgedeckten Rundhütten.

Vom Dorf sind es dann noch mal ca. 10 km bis zur Lodge. Diese Strecke ist dann schon Abenteuer pur! 4×4 ist also Vorraussetzung! Wer kein 4×4 Auto hat, kann sich aber auch in Sangwali abholen lassen.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1827

Die Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge liegt abgelegen auf der Insel Lupala am Ufer eines der vielen Kanäle des Kwando-Linyanti-Fluss-Systems und ist die einzige Lodge, die wirklich mitten in den Linyanti-Sümpfen und weniger als 300 m vom Nkasa Lupala Nationalpark (vorher Mamili Nationalpark) entfernt liegt. Die Inseln Lupala und Nkasa waren auch Namensgeber der Lodge.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2232

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-9604

Dieses einzigartige namibische Feuchtgebiet-Paradies befindet sich im östlichen Teil der Zambezi-Region. Man fühlt sich hier teilweise schon wie im Okavango-Delta.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1825

Für Abenteuerlustige und Menschen, die ein einzigartiges Erlebnis in der Wildnis suchen, ist diese Lodge ein Muss.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1826

Die Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge ist ein Gemeinschaftsunternehmen zwischen den Managern der Lodge, der italienischen Familie Micheletti und der Wuparo Conservancy. Dieses Joint Venture ist ein Teil des erfolgreichen und preisgekrönten „Namibian Conservancy Program“.

Die Wuparo Conservancy wurde als Ökotourismusprojekt im Rahmen des namibischen Umweltschutzprogramms von den Mayeyi Traditional Authority mit privater Beteiligung, der italienischen Familie Micheletti, ins Leben gerufen. Gemeinsam wollen Sie die Natur schützen und das Wohlergehen der Menschen der Region fördern. Ein Teil der Erlöse der Lodge gehen auch direkt an die Wuparo Conservancy.

95 % der Mitarbeiter der Lodge kommen aus der Community. Aus einmal 9 Mitarbeitern sind nun schon 23 geworden. Dadurch verbessert sich natürlich auch das Leben für alle in den Dörfern. Und im Rahmen der Nicht-Regierungsorganisation IRDNC (Integrated Rural Development  and Nature Conservation) übernehmen die Bewohner der Region den Wildschutz. Sie sollen Wilderei und illegales Jagen verhindern.

Die Manager der Lodge, die 3 Brüder Simone, Alessandro und Ruggero Micheletti wollen seit Juli 2011 ihren Gästen ein besonderes Wildnis-Abenteuer und einzigartige Erfahrungen ermöglichen und gleichzeitig aber auch ein sinnvolles und umweltfreundliches Tourismusmanagement gewährleisten. Die drei sind echte Visionäre mit Leidenschaft, Feingefühl und Liebe für die  Natur, die Tiere und Menschen. Absolut beeindruckend! Weitere Informationen >>

Interview mit Manager Alessandro Micheletti

Wir haben mit Manager Alessandro gesprochen. In diesem Video berichtet er uns von seiner Vision und der wunderschönen Lodge. Ein toller Mann mit tollen Ansichten!

Sanfter Tourismus

Die gesamte Lodge wurde nach ökologischen Gesichtspunkten errichtet und ist völlig energie-autark. Der Strom wird solar erzeugt und das Wasser wird ebenfalls durch die Sonne erhitzt. Warmes Wasser gibt es daher nur abends und Licht nur von Solar- oder LED-Lampen. Auch die Wege zwischen den Zelten und dem Haupthaus sind naturbelassen.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2015

Der Hauptbereich der Lodge wurde naturfreundlich und nachhaltig (ohne Beton) auf Holzplattformen errichtet. Dazu gehören ein offener Speiseraum, eine Lounge und eine Bar. Hier kann man den Tag gemütlich mit einem Sundowner ausklingen lassen. Außerdem gibt es nun auch einen kleinen Pool zur Erfrischung.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1927

Von den schönen Holzterrassen mit Feuerstelle und Aussichtsdeck hat man einen atemberaubenden Blick auf die Lagune, in der sich auch häufig Elefanten aufhalten. Im September und Oktober kann man hier schon mal bis zu 200 Elefanten beobachten! Wir waren im Mai hier und da waren leider schon alle nach Botswana gewandert. Aber es ist natürlich trotzdem einfach wunderschön hier und Wildnis pur!

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1993

Abends kann man dann das italienisch angehauchte Essen am Familientisch genießen. Wer möchte kann hier mit allen anderen Gästen (inkl. Manager und seinem Sohn) zusammen sitzen und den Tag Revue passieren lassen. Eine superschöne Sache, die den Besuch hier noch interessanter und persönlicher macht. Besonders schön ist auch das Feuer, dass abends angezündet wird.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1981

Der Hauptbereich und die Zelte fügen sich perfekt in die natürliche Umgebung ein. Damit ist die Lodge ein Paradebeispiel für nachhaltiges Bauen und sensiblen nachhaltigen Tourismus, nicht nur in der Region, sondern in ganz Namibia.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1978

Glamping

Die 10 einfachen und doch luxuriösen Zelte sind aus Stahl, Canvas und Holz auf Stelzen gebaut. Es gibt 8 Luxuszelte, ein Honeymoon- und ein Familien-Zelt. Sie alle haben Glastüren, ein kleines Deck für fantastische Tierbeobachtungen und ein eigenes Bad. Glamping (Glamourous Camping) in der Wildnis!

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1844

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2258

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1889

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-1882

Das Zelt für Honeymooner hat eine superschöne Open-Air-Badewanne.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2307

Zu Gast bei wilden Tieren

Für die Tiere gibt es hier keine Begrenzungen oder Zäune. Sie können sich frei zwischen dem Nationalpark und der Lodge bewegen. Und auch zwischen Botswana, Namibia, Angola und Sambia können die Tiere frei umherwandern. Spannende Begegnungen mit den wilden Tieren gibt es so also reichlich. Deshalb muss man sich abends auch immer von einem Guide vom Restaurant zurück zum Zelt bringen lassen.

Man kann hier Elefanten, Flusspferde, eine riesige Büffelherde, 2 Löwenrudel, Hyänen, Antilopen, Kudus, … und bis zu 400 verschiedene Vogelarten erleben und beobachten.

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2243

Game Drives and more

Je nach Jahreszeit gibt es unterschiedliche Aktivitäten, wie z.B. Pirschfahrten in den Nkasa Lupala Nationalpark, Wanderungen, Bootstouren und Dorfbesichtigungen. Dabei kann man mit etwas Glück Löwen, Elefanten, Büffel, Leoparden, Antilopen, Kudus, Duiker, Gnus, Flusspferde und Warzenschweine sehen. Nächtliche Pirschfahrten werden in den trockenen Wintermonaten durchgeführt.

Toll ist die Combo aus Pirschfahrt und Bootstour. Die Fahrt durch die herrlichen Sumpf-, Savannen- und Graslandschaften und das riesige Kwando-Linyanti-Flusssystem dauert inkl. Lunch ca. 5 Stunden. Die Fahrt mit unserem Guide Gini war super interessant!

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2067

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2236

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-9429

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-9459

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2143

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-9550

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-9586

We love Nkasa Lupala!

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2033

Für Abenteurer, Romantiker und Natur- und Tierliebhaber ist diese Lodge einfach perfekt. Die Natur ist atemberaubend schön und hier herrscht eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre. Die abgelegene Lage der Lodge gibt einem wirklich das Gefühl in der Wildnis zu sein. Und wenn man dann noch zur richtigen Zeit (September/Oktober) da ist, kann man von den Decks aus die Elefanten beobachten. Auch für die Flitterwochen oder eine romantische Buschhochzeit ist dies ein ganz besonderer Ort! Wir haben die Stimmung, die Menschen, die Natur und die Tiere hier sehr genossen! Dieser Ort bleibt einem für immer in Erinnerung und im Herzen!

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2069

moniquedecaro-nkasalupala-2062

Temp. Luft: -1 – 40 Grad
Beste Reisezeit: Mai – September (Regenzeit Januar – März), Ende April/Mai ist vom Wetter her perfekt, beste Zeit für Safaris und Elefantenbeobachtung: September/Oktober (gegen Ende der Trockenzeit)
Preis: ab 136 EUR p.P./Nacht inkl. Dinner, Bed & Breakfast
Verpflegung: Dinner, Bed & Breakfast
Gesamtbewertung: ******
Besonderheiten: 
nachhaltiger Tourismus mit Herz und Leidenschaft für Tiere, Natur und Menschen, atemberaubende Landschaft, Tiere können sich frei durch die Lodge bewegen, sehr persönliche und warmherzige Atmosphäre , superschöne Zelte, tolles Essen
Tipp: Wir empfehlen Malaria-Phrophylaxe und ausreichend Mückenschutz, denn die Lodge liegt im Malaria-Hochrisikogebiet.

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge – Booklet

honeymoon_guide_beautiful_places

nkasa-logo

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala NP
11km South of Sangwali
GPS: S18 19.766 E23 40.324
East Caprivi – Namibia

Tel: +264 81 1477798
Fax 0886509335
info@nkasalupalalodge.com
www.nkasalupalalodge.com

Responsible Tourism Award 2016 – 1. Platz
Eco Awards Namibia – 5 of 5 Eco Flowers
Award of Excellence 2014
Conservancy Tourism Award 2011

Unser Tipp: Die Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge war Teil unserer Namibia-Rundreise, die liebevoll von Silke von vermundo Reisen zusammengestellt und geplant wurde! Wir können das Reisen mit vermundo einfach nur wärmstens empfehlen!

Hinweis: Bei unserem Aufenthalt wurden wir teilweise von der Nkasa Lupala Lodge unterstützt. Die im Artikel geäußerten Meinungen sind trotzdem wie immer unsere eigenen – 100 %!

Monique De Caro

Monique De Caro

Travel Blogger | Graphic-Designer | Photographer at Beautiful Weddings by Monique De Caro
Hallo, ich bin Monique #lebensfrohe Weltenbummlerin #Grafik-Designerin #Fotografin #Genießerin und die Schreiberin dieses Blogs. Da ich selbst Hochzeitsfotografin bin und ich meinen Mann Marcus (der mich stets auf den Reisen begleitet) am Strand Anse Source d´Argent auf den Seychellen geheiratet habe, möchten wir euch vor allem Tipps für wunderschöne Flitterwochen, die eigene Hochzeit am Strand, einzigartige Hotels oder die romantische Auszeit zu zweit geben.
Monique De Caro

@moniquedecaro

Beautiful Places for Lovers! http://t.co/PL73sZoEjJ // Beautiful Weddings http://t.co/s1jnSYOqT4
Le Méridien Fisherman’s Cove, Mahé, Seychellen – Entspannung & Gourmetküche mit Blick… https://t.co/PBwpP0ugDl https://t.co/I4xgttrM9Y - 2 Wochen ago
Monique De Caro

Wir freuen uns über eure Kommentare, Tipps und Anregungen!